Basic information on its establishment

Nilai has its own unique history. According to the history, Nilai previously had been put under the purview of luak Sungai Ujong, administrated by ‘waris di Darat’ or ‘waris di Air’. Under Dato' Johan from ‘waris di Darat’ there was three Dato' Lingkungan which heads the three ‘corak suku Batu hampar’ which focused on a few villages. Other lineage including form Bentan which was not based on ‘suku’, but instead according to respective villages which they came from. As the Dato' Lembaga waris Perut Hulu, Waris Telaga Undang Dato' Johan is not ‘titian balai’ because Dato' Andika is more senior. However, the power given to Dato' Kelana Putera to collect taxes until the year 1894 had proven Dato' Johan’s important position in ‘balai Undang’.

The 3rd Dato' Johan, which was Dato' Maamor as Dato' Kelana Putera, the 8th Undang Luak Sungai Ujong. When he was appointed to hold the position as Pesaka Dato' Kelana Putera, Dato' Maamor is still in his juvenile years. At that time Pesaka Dato' Kelana Putera was vacant since 1887 when Dato' Mohd Yufof, Undang Luak Sungai Ujong was sacked. Because of waris Perut Hulu did not have a son that can take the ‘pesaka’ position at that time, his underlings majority appointed Dato' Maamor, which is still a child at that time, to take the position of Dato' Johan and later on be called as Dato' Kelana.

The administrative jurisdiction of Dato' Johan spans the Lenggeng are which includes Kampung Mendum, Kampung Lenggeng, Kampung Sungai Jai, Kampung Hulu Beranang dan Kampung Dacing. Each individual villages have their own ‘ketua adat’ which was called ‘Tua Waris’. Each of Minangkabau people’s ‘suku’ also populated other ‘luak’ in Negeri Sembilan before they finally settled down in Kampung Lenggeng. To ensure their wellbeing in Sungai Ujong’s ‘luak’, all the ‘suku’ were given a ‘Tua Waris’ to represent them in their administration and heritage(adat) in Balai Undang Luak.



Nilai was once been administrated by Majlis Perbandaran Nilai which was lead by a Yang Di Pertua. What’s interesting is, the Yang Di Pertua MPN was also a Yang Di Pertua of MPS. Once known as Majlis Daerah Seremban (estsblished on 1 January 1979) via reshuffling upon six (6) Local Authorities in Negeri Sembilan section3(a) and 3(b), Local Government Act 1976, Act 171

  • Majlis Tempatan Pajam (1957)
  • Majlis Tempatan Mantin (1958)
  • Majlis Tempatan Lembaga Bandaran Rantau (1959)
  • Majlis Tempatan Lembaga Bandaran Nilai (1959)
  • Majlis Tempatan Lembaga Bandaran Broga (1959)
  • Majlis Tempatan Lembaga Bandaran Labu (1959)

Majlis Perbandaran Nilai has been upgraded from Majlis Daerah Seremban and the declaration event was held officially on 2 February 2002. Majlis Perbandaran Nilai had been given the responsibility to administer eight (8) ‘mukims’ within Seremban area. Among the ‘mukims’ that fall under the jurisdiction of Majlis Perbandaran Nilai at this time are:

  • Mukim Setul
  • Mukim Labu
  • Mukim Rantau
  • Mukim Lenggeng
  • Mukim Pantai
  • Sebahagian Rasah
  • Sebahagian Ampangan
  • Sebahagian Seremban

Of all those Mukim, five (5) of them are ‘Mukim Utama’ which are Mukim Setul, Labu, Rantau, Lenggeng and Pantai whereas three (3) more Mukim are just a partial (sebahagian) one. They are sebahagian Rasah, sebahagian Ampangan dan sebahagian Seremban.



Seremban and Nilai now has been embarking in a huge evolution via the development of industry, housing, transport and tourism. Effective policies that were initiated by the State Government causes these two cities to continuously develop in accordance to the motto of the government, which is ‘Bersih, Muafakat dan Sejahtera’.

On 1 Januari 2020 will officially combine Majlis Perbandaran Seremban and Majlis Perbandaran Nilai to form a single entity which is Majlis Bandaraya Seremban. This merge and the status upgrade signify a transformation of Seremban to a Metropolis City that is important in the economic development of Malaysia. This upgrade have shown that Seremban now can compete among all cities globally towards a sustainable development.

The merge and upgrade efforts has begun since 2008, which was a brainchild of YB Dato’ Seri Mohamad bin Hj Hasan , the Ex- Menteri Besar Negeri Sembilan, and the baton was handed to YAB Dato Seri Aminuddin Harun, the current Chief Minister of Negeri Sembilan.

On 12 November 2008, State Government have approved the proposal to merge MPS and MPN as one entity and upgraded itself to Majlis Bandaraya Seremban (MBS).

Apart from that, on 2 February 2009, the MBS upgrade initiative has been approved by the Suruhanjaya Pilihanraya Malaysia and the Ministers meeting on 20 April 2012 also approved it as such.

This merge and upgrade have been approved and blessed by DYMM Yang Di Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan Tuanku Muhriz ibni Almarhum Tuanku Munawir and on 1 Januari 2020 Seremban has officially become Majlis Bandaraya Seremban.

This glorious history surely will be a good starting point for Seremban’s continuous development by offering the best services to all its populations. Seremban district will also be the focus of investors and visitors from all over the world, shoulder to shoulder with other cities globally.